Posted in Spiritual practices

The Morning Office

A Reading

Jesus taught us, saying: “Can you not buy two sparrows for a penny? And yet not one falls to the ground without your Father knowing. Why, every hair on your head has been counted. So there is no need to be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.”

Matthew 10:29-31

The Refrain

And they will say, “Surely, there is a reward for the righteous;* surely, there is a God who rules in the earth.”

Psalm 58:11

The Morning Psalm

If You Would but Listen

You called on me in trouble, and I saved you;* I answered you from the secret place of thunder and tested you at the waters of Meribah. 

Hear, O my people, and I will admonish you:* O Israel, if you would but listen to me!

There shall be no strange god among you;* you shall not worship a foreign god.

I am the LORD your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt and said,* “Open your mouth wide, and I will fill it.”

Psalm 81:7-10 

(Tickle, 2001)

Leave a Reply

