Posted in Spiritual practices

The Divine Hours

The Vespers Office
To Be Observed on the Hour or Half Hour Between 5 and 8 p.m

 

The Call to Prayer

Let everything that has breath* praise the LORD. Hallelujah!

Psalm 150:6

The Request for Presence

O God, you are my God; eagerly I seek you;* my soul thirsts for you, my flesh faints for you, as in a barren and dry land where there is no water. Therefore I have gazed upon you in your holy place,* that I might behold your power and your glory.

Psalm 63:1-2

The Greeting

Your loving-kindness is better than life itself;* my lips shall give you praise. So will I bless you as long as I live* and lift up my hands in your Name.

Psalm 63:3-4

The Hymn God of Light

Holy Spirit, God of light, Fill us with your radiance bright; Gentle father of the poor, Make us, by your help secure; Come, your boundless grace impart, Bring your love to every heart. Lord of consolation, come, Warm us when our hearts are numb; Great consoler, come and heal, To our souls your strength reveal; Cool, refreshing comfort pour, And our peace of mind restore. Give to every faithful soul Gifts of grace to make us whole; Help us when we come to die, So that we may live on high; Ever let your love descend, Give us joys that never end.

Stephen Langton

The Refrain for the Vespers Lessons

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom then shall I fear?* the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom then shall I be afraid?

Psalm 27:1

The Vespers Psalm With the Faithful, You Show Yourself Faithful, O LORD

With the faithful you show yourself faithful, O God;* with the forthright you show yourself forthright. With the pure you show yourself pure,* but with the crooked you are wily. You will save a lowly people,* but you will humble the haughty eyes. You, O LORD, are my lamp;* my God, you make my darkness bright. With you I will break down an enclosure;* with the help of my God I will scale any wall. As for God, his ways are perfect; the words of the LORD are tried in the fire;* he is a shield to all who trust in him.

Psalm 18:26-31

The Refrain

The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom then shall I fear?* the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom then shall I be afraid?

The Cry of the Church

O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me. O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, have mercy upon me. O Lamb of God, that takes away the sins of the world, grant me your peace.

The Lord’s Prayer

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be your Name. May your kingdom come, and your will be done, on earth as in heaven. Give us today our daily bread. Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who sin against us. Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil; for yours are the kingdom and the power and the glory forever and ever. Amen.

The Prayer Appointed for the Week

I thank you, heavenly Father, that you have delivered me from the dominion of sin and death and brought me into the kingdom of your Son; and I pray that, as by his death he has recalled me to life, so by his love he may raise me to eternal joys; who lives and reigns with you, in the unity of the Holy Spirit, one God, now and for ever. Amen.

The Concluding Prayer of the Church

Almighty God, who after the creation of the world rested from all your works and sanctified a day of rest for all your creatures: Grant that I, putting away all earthly anxieties, may be duly prepared for the service of public worship, and grant as well that my Sabbath upon earth may be a preparation for the eternal rest promised to your people in heaven; through Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen

-vineyard church of ann arbor presents: The Divine Hours by Phyllis Tickle

http://annarborvineyard.org/tdh/tdh-iphone.cfm

Leave a Reply

